‘Mleiha: An Arabian Kingdom on the Silk Road’ Japan Exhibition

Organized by Sharjah Archaeology Authority to raise global awareness of the cultural and civilizational heritage of Sharjah

Bodour Al Qasimi witnesses the opening of the ‘Mleiha: An Arabian Kingdom on the Silk Road’ exhibition in Japan

JAPAN, July 8, 2024: Under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council and Ruler of Sharjah, and in the presence of Sheikha Bodour bint Sultan Al Qasimi, Chairperson of the Sharjah Investment and Development Authority (Shurooq), the Sharjah Archaeology Authority (SAA) inaugurated the ‘Mleiha: An Arabian Kingdom on the Silk Road’ exhibition at the Miho Museum in Japan, which is being held from July 6 to December 15, 2024. The exhibition is part of the SAA’s efforts to enhance global awareness of Sharjah’s and the UAE’s cultural and civilizational heritage and aims to shed light on the rich history and significant role of Mleiha as a crucial hub on the Silk Road.

The exhibition was inaugurated in the presence of H.E. Eisa Yousif, Director General of the Sharjah Archaeology Authority (SAA); Professor Isao Kumakura, Director of the Miho Museum; Yukiko Koyama, Head of the Miho Museum Office; H.E. Shehab Ahmed Al Fahim, UAE Ambassador to Japan; H.E. Dr. Mohammed bin Saeed Al Busaidi, Ambassador of the Sultanate of Oman to Japan; H.E. Hiroki Iwanaga, Mayor of Koka City; Marwan Ahmed Alnaqbi, the Deputy Chief of Mission, and a host of prominent and diplomatic figures in the fields of culture and archaeology.

The heritage of Mleiha is an integral part of our Arab identity

Sheikha Bodour bint Sultan Al Qasimiexpressed Sharjah’s gratitude for this cultural cooperation with Japan and affirmed that the organization of such events by the SAA strengthens international relations, helping to build cultural bridges between nations while documenting the historical ties that unite us. Sheikha Bodour also emphasized that Mleiha, and its rich cultural heritage, are an integral part of Arab identity and that this exhibition will showcase the profound impact of Arab civilization on the world, enhancing it as a source of inspiration for future generations.

The role of Mleiha as part of the grand human history and as a rich source of identity and national pride

H.E. Eisa Yousif explained that this exhibition is part of Sharjah’s comprehensive cultural strategy focussing on, investing in, and sustaining culture and knowledge while enhancing national identity by highlighting the cultural heritage of the UAE and the Emirate of Sharjah on the international stage and museums. He added that the organization of this global exhibition – part of a series of initiatives aimed at enhancing cultural and archaeological tourism in Sharjah and the UAE – confirms Mleiha’s role in the story of human history. He added that as one of the most significant historical sites in the Arabian Peninsula, Mleiha is a rich source of identity and national pride.

He praised the collaboration with the Miho Museum – a partnership which reflects the strength of cultural relations between the two countries and enhances Sharjah’s vision as a cultural hub that attracts those interested in cultural heritage from all over the world.

Showing more than 160 artifacts considered national treasures and important cultural properties depicting various aspects of life in the Kingdom of Mleiha

The exhibition includes descriptions of more than 160 artifacts, of which 40 pieces are considered national treasures, and 49 pieces representing important cultural properties. Additionally, it features some recent discoveries being displayed for the first time to the Japanese public, illustrating the various aspects of life in the Kingdom of Mleiha.

The exhibition provides a detailed analysis of Mleiha’s central role in global trade, particularly the Silk Road, which connected the East and the West. It demonstrates peaceful coexistence in the region, with the displayed artifacts serving as living testimonies to cultural and commercial exchange. The exhibition covers several themes including Crossroads of the Orient: Origins of Arabian Culture, The Mleiha Period: Mleiha and Dibba Al-Hisn Sites, Blessings of Nature: Plants and Animals World, Daily Life, and Coinage, in addition to Trade, Cultural Exchange, World of Gods, Religious Beliefs, and Standards of Beauty.

Visits to several UNESCO World Heritage sites in Japan

On the sidelines of the exhibition inauguration, representatives from the Sharjah Archaeology Authority also undertook a comprehensive tour of the Miho Museum which has exhibits including Ancient Art from Egypt, Mesopotamia, Iran, Afghanistan, China, Japan – a collection of antiquities from some of the most famous museums in the world. Further, they also visited Misono, the headquarters of the Shinji Shumeikai, and the Shumei Natural Agriculture farming (traditional house), in addition to a visit to several UNESCO World Heritage sites including the Golden Pavilion (Kinkaku-ji), which combines three styles of Japanese architecture.

It is noteworthy that in 2022 the SAA and Miho Museum collaborated on an exhibition entitled ‘Connecting Civilizations: From Ancient Central Asia to East Asia’ as part of the Authority’s ongoing local and international archaeological exhibitions program. The exhibition included a collection of rare archaeological discoveries, significantly including  copper coins dating back to the early Silk Road period. These artefacts highlight the critical role of key regions in the Arabian Peninsula in establishing firm economic and cultural bridges, commercial activity and knowledge exchange between Asian peoples, the Arabian Peninsula, and Europe, in periods dating back to before the Common Era.

His Excellency Dr. Sabah Aboud Jassim, Director-General of Sharjah Archaeology Authority, said: “We are pleased to contribute to sponsoring Sharjah…
Running from April 18 to May 22, 2024 Sharjah Archaeology Authority opens the exhibition “From Arabia to Central Asia: treasures…
تاريخ عمارة الجامع الأزهر منذ العصر الفاطمي حتى نهاية العصر المملوكي

محاضرتنا الاثنين القادم بعنوان “تاريخ عمارة الجامع الأزهر منذ العصر الفاطمي حتى نهاية العصر المملوكي” يقدمها الدكتور أحمد مجدي سالم، في تمام الساعة 4:30 مساءً.

لحضور المحاضرة يرجى الضغط على الرابط التالي:
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/85206671181?pwd=OG8yQzhwT0poK21Ld0F2bVJkYzI5dz09

error: disabled!!

“مليحة: مملكة عربية على طريق الحرير” معرض اليابان

بتنظيم “الشارقة للآثار” لتعزيز الوعي العالمي بالإرث الثقافي والحضاري للإمارة

بدور القاسمي تشهد افتتاح معرض “مليحة: مملكة عربية على طريق الحرير” في اليابان

اليابان – 8 يوليو 2024: برعاية صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي، عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم إمارة الشارقة -حفظه الله ورعاه-، وبحضور الشيخة بدور بنت سلطان القاسمي، رئيسة هيئة الشارقة للاستثمار والتطوير “شروق”، افتتحت هيئة الشارقة للآثار معرض “مليحة: مملكة عربية على طريق الحرير”، في متحف ميهو باليابان، في الفترة من 6 يوليو الجاري وحتى 15 ديسمبر 2024، والذي يهدف إلى تسليط الضوء على تاريخ ودور مليحة العريق كمحور هام في طريق الحرير،  ضمن جهود هيئة الشارقة للآثار لتعزيز الوعي العالمي بالإرث الثقافي والحضاري لإمارة الشارقة والإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وجاء افتتاح المعرض بحضور سعادة عيسى يوسف، مدير عام هيئة الشارقة للآثار، والبروفيسور إيساو كوماكورا، مدير متحف ميهو ويوكيكو كوياما، رئيسة مكتب متحف ميهو، وسعادة شهاب أحمد الفهيم، السفير فوق العادة والمفوض لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لدى اليابان، وسعادة السفير الدكتور محمد بن سعيد البوسعيدي سفير سلطنة عُمان لدى اليابان، وسعادة هيروكي إيواناجا، عمدة مدينة كوكا، ومروان أحمد النقبي، نائب رئيس البعثة، وكوكبة من الشخصيات البارزة والدبلوماسية في مجالات الثقافة والآثار.

إرث مليحة جزء لا يتجزأ من هويتنا العربية

وأعربت الشيخة بدور بنت سلطان القاسمي عن امتنانها لهذا التعاون الثقافي مع اليابان، مؤكدةً أن تنظيم هيئة الشارقة للآثار لمثل هذه الفعاليات تعزز من العلاقات الدولية وتساعد على بناء جسور التواصل الثقافي بين الشعوب وتوثيق الروابط التاريخية التي تجمعنا، وأن مليحة وموروثها في التراث الثقافي العريق هو جزء لا يتجزأ من هويتنا العربية، في سعينا من خلال هذا المعرض إلى إظهار مدى الأثر العميق لحضارتنا على العالم، وتعزيزه كمصدر إلهام للأجيال القادمة.

دور مليحة كجزء من التاريخ البشري العظيم وكمصدر غني للهوية والفخر الوطني

من جانبه، أشار سعادة عيسى يوسف أن معرض “مليحة: مملكة عربية على طريق الحرير” يأتي في إطار الاستراتيجية الثقافية المتكاملة لإمارة الشارقة، والتي تركز على الاستثمار والاستدامة في الثقافة والمعرفة وتعزيز الهوية الوطنية من خلال إبراز التراث الثقافي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وإمارة الشارقة في المحافل الدولية والمتاحف العالمية، حيث يؤكد تنظيم هذا المعرض العالمي دور مليحة كجزء من التاريخ البشري العظيم وكمصدر غني للهوية والفخر الوطني كونها من أهم المواقع التاريخية في شبه الجزيرة العربية، كما يُمثل جزءاً من سلسلة المبادرات الرامية إلى تعزيز السياحة الثقافية والأثرية، مُشيداً بالتعاون مع متحف ميهو في اليابان الذي يعكس متانة العلاقات الثقافية بين البلدين ويعزز من رؤية الإمارة باعتبارها مركزًا حضاريًا يستقطب المهتمين بالتراث الثقافي من كافة أنحاء العالم.”

عرض أكثر من 160 قطعة أثرية تعتبر كنوزًا وطنية، وتُمثل ممتلكات ثقافية مهمة توضح أشكال الحياة المختلفة في مملكة مليحة

ويتضمن المعرض وصفاً لأكثر من 160 قطعة أثرية، بما في ذلك 40 قطعة تعتبر كنوزًا وطنية، و 49 قطعة تُمثل ممتلكات ثقافية مهمة، بالإضافة إلى بعض الاكتشافات الحديثة التي تُعرض لأول مرة أمام الجمهور الياباني، متناولةً أشكال الحياة المختلفة في مملكة مليحة.

كما يقدم المعرض تحليلاً دقيقًا لدور مليحة المركزي في التجارة العالمية، ولا سيما طريق الحرير، الذي كان يربط بين الشرق والغرب، ومثال على التعايش السلمي في المنطقة، حيث تعتبر القطع الأثرية المعروضة شهادات حية على التواصل الثقافي والتجاري تتمثل في عدة مواضيع حول “ملتقى الشرق، أصول الثقافة العربية”، و”فترة مليحة: مواقع مليحة ودبا الحصن”، و”نِعَم الطبيعة: عالم النباتات والحيوانات”، والحياة اليومية، والعملات، بالإضافة إلى التجارة، والتبادل الثقافي، والمعتقدات الدينية، ومعايير الجمال.

زيارات لعدة مواقع مسجّلة ضمن قائمة اليونسكو لمواقع التراث العالمي في اليابان

وعلى هامش تنظيم المعرض، ستقوم هيئة الشارقة للآثار بجولة شاملة تتضمن متحف ميهو حول “الفن القديم من مصر، بلاد ما بين النهرين، إيران، أفغانستان، الصين، اليابان”، والتي تمثل مجموعة من أشهر المتاحف الفنية في العالم، وزيارة إلى ميسونو، مقر شنجي شوميكاي، ومزرعة الزراعة الطبيعية شوميه (بيت تقليدي)، بالإضافة إلى زيارة عدة مواقع مسجّلة ضمن قائمة اليونسكو لمواقع التراث العالمي مثل معبد السرادق الذهبي (كينكاكو جي)، الذي يجمع أساليب العمارة اليابانية الثلاثة.

جديرٌ بالذكر أن استمراراً لبرنامج المعارض الأثرية لهيئة الشارقة للآثار على المستوى المحلي والدولي، شاركت الهيئة بمعرض “اتصال الحضارات: من آسيا الوسطى القديمة، إلى شرق آسيا” الذي أقيم بمتحف «ميهو» في اليابان عام 2022، من خلال عرضها لمجموعة من المكتشفات الأثرية النادرة، ومن أهمها مسكوكات نحاسية تعود لفترة نشوء طريق الحرير القديم، حيث ساهمت مناطق حيوية في شبه الجزيرة العربية في مدّ جسور اقتصادية وثقافية راسخة وراكزة، وسط الحراك التجاري والتبادل المعرفي بين الشعوب الآسيوية والجزيرة العربية وأوروبا في أزمنة تعود إلى فترة ما قبل الميلاد، والفترات اللاحقة عليها.

معرض سيول الدولي للكتاب هو واحد من أبرز المعارض الدولية للكتب في العالم. يُعقد هذا المعرض سنويًا في العاصمة الكورية…
شاركت هيئة الشارقة للآثار، ممثلة بمدير إدارة الآثار أ. عيسى يوسف، في المؤتمر الدولي الثالث لكلية الآثار بجامعة الفيوم بجمهورية…
تاريخ عمارة الجامع الأزهر منذ العصر الفاطمي حتى نهاية العصر المملوكي

محاضرتنا الاثنين القادم بعنوان “تاريخ عمارة الجامع الأزهر منذ العصر الفاطمي حتى نهاية العصر المملوكي” يقدمها الدكتور أحمد مجدي سالم، في تمام الساعة 4:30 مساءً.

لحضور المحاضرة يرجى الضغط على الرابط التالي:
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/85206671181?pwd=OG8yQzhwT0poK21Ld0F2bVJkYzI5dz09

error: disabled!!