Welcome to

Sharjah Archaeology Authority

We protect the heritage, safeguard the civilization, and maintain Sharjah’s Archaeology
About
Sharjah Archaeology Authority

Titled “Department of Archaeology and Heritage”, under the umbrella of the Department of Culture and Information, Sharjah Archaeology Department was established in 1986 to supervise all the archaeological and heritage sites all over Sharjah emirate and to provide the necessary protection to them; in addition to carrying out the archaeological exploration operations and overseeing the exploration work of the foreign expeditions operating in Sharjah emirate.

In 1992, His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qassimi, member of Supreme Council, ruler of Sharjah emirate, issued the Archaeology Law No. (1) in Sharjah Emirate. The said law includes all the matters related to archaeology and archaeological sites protection and supervision, in addition to fighting the illegal trade and smuggling of the archaeological artifacts.

In late 1992, Sharjah Archaeology Department formed a local expedition to explore the archaeological sites, and to coordinate with the foreign exploration expeditions . The local expedition was headed by Dr. Sabah Jassem and it had local members.

In 1995, “The Department of Heritage” was established to manage the heritage sites in the emirate, organize the archaeological exploration operations and the process of publication and documentation ,as well as coordination with the relevant government departments and entities. Later on, it was separated from Department of Archaeology.

In 2016 ,the sublime Emiri Decree No. 57 of 2016 was issued establishing Sharjah Archaeology Authority – a clear translation of His Highness ruler of Sharjah’s understanding of the importance of archaeology, as being a live witness of civilization, in addition to having everlasting historical records photographing and vocalizing the story of a deeply civilized people of determination who labored and challenged all such difficult environmental circumstances. Never-the-less, they lived and contributed to making history by such huge achievements with such clear marks in the human history and human civilization.

IMG_4261
Director General’s
Message
The archaeological sites and places are many in the United Arab Emirates, thanks to its strategic location. This has made the U.A.E. one of the most important trade hubs across the region throughout the ages hosting various number of civilizations on its soil. These civilizations have left many archaeological sites, marking such significant milestones in the U.A. E’s great history. The treasures discovered in Sharjah’s archaeological areas are among the most important results of the exploration works on global level, especially that some of them are linked to such information which had remained ambiguous to many archaeological experts and scientists in the past.


Sharjah has become a hub for archaeological researches since the seventies of the last century when an Iraqi archaeology team kicked off the first exploration operations in the emirate. This success is attributed to the activities undertaken by Sharjah Archaeology Authority, such as conducting wide archaeology exploration operations, and supervising the foreign archaeology teams. Pursuant to the directives of H.H. Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qassimi, member of Supreme Council of Union, Ruler of Sharjah, May Allah protect him, with aim to maintain and learn about Sharjah’s archaeology, in addition to promoting awareness on its importance and its great ancient history.
World Heritage file
المشهد الثقافي للمنطقة الوسطى
Cultural Landscape of the Central Region

His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qassimi, member of Supreme Council, and Ruler of Sharjah issued an administrative resolution in January 2018 establishing World Heritage File Committee for the Cultural Landscape of the Central Region of Sharjah emirate. The committee was headed by H.E. Issa Yousef Director of Archaeology and Tangible Heritage in Sharjah archaeology Authority.

The resolution specified the tasks and powers of the committee in cooperation with the relevant authorities in order to protect the cultural heritage in the emirate and to coordinate with the International Council on Monuments and Sites “ICOMOS” and the International Scientific Committee on Archaeological Heritage Management “ICAHM” with regard to listing the Cultural Landscape of the Central Region of Sharjah emirate on the World Heritage List, and preparing a schedule for the execution milestones of the file, and fixing a submission deadline.

Decrees and Laws

Protection of Cultural Heritage

مرسوم أميري رقم (57) لسنة2016م بشأن إنشاء هيئة الشارقة للآثار
قانون رقم (2) لسنة 2017مبشأن اختصاصات هيئة الشارقة للآثارار
قانون الآثار في إمارة الشارقة
قانون رقم (4) بشأن التراث الثقافي في إمازة الشارقة

مرحبا بك في

هيئة الشارقة للآثار

نصون التراث، ونحمي الحضارة، ونحافظ على آثار الشارقة
حول
هيئة الشارقة للآثار

تأسست إدارة الآثار في الشارقة عام 1986 باسم “إدارة الآثار والتراث”، تحت مظلة دائرة الثقافة والإعلام لتتولى مسؤولية الإشراف على جميع المواقع الأثرية والتراثية المنتشرة في أرجاء إمارة الشارقة، وتوفر الحماية اللازمة لها، والمشاركة والإشراف على أعمال بعثات التنقيب الأجنبية العاملة بإمارة الشارقة.

وفي العام 1992، أصدر حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي، عضو المجلس الأعلى، حاكم إمارة الشارقة، قانون الآثار رقم (1) في إمارة الشارقة، الذي يتضمن كافة الأمور ذات العلاقة بالآثار والمواقع الأثرية وحمايتها وتنظيم أمورها، ومحاربة الاتّجار غير الشرعي في القطع الأثرية وتهريبها.

قامت إدارة الآثار بالشارقة في آواخر عام 1992بتأسيس بعثة محلية لتولي مهمة التنقيب في المواقع الأثرية، والتنسيق مع بعثات التنقيب الأثري الأجنبية، وكانت البعثة برئاسة

د. صباح جاسم، وعضوية عدد من الكادر المحلي.

في العام 1995 تم تأسيس “إدارة التراث”، لتتولى مسؤولية المواقع التراثية بالإمارة، وتنظيم شؤون عمليات التنقيب الأثري، وعملية النشر والتوثيق والتنسيق مع الدوائر والجهات الحكومية ذات العلاقة، وبعد ذلك تم انفصالها عن إدارة الآثار.

عام 2016 صدر المرسوم الأميري السامي رقم 57 لسنة 2016، بإنشاء هيئة الشارقة للآثار، التي تعتبر تجسيداً واضحاً لإدراك صاحب السمو حاكم الشارقة، بأهمية الآثار، باعتبارها شواهد حضارية حية، وسجلات تاريخية خالدة، تحكي قصة شعب عريق مكافح، قاوم وتحدى في ظل ظروف بيئية معادية، وبرغم ذلك عاش وساهم في صُنع وتقديم منجزات كبيرة، تركت بصمات واضحة في سجل التاريخ البشري، والحضارة الإنسانية.

IMG_4261
رسالة
المدير العام
تعددت المناطق الأثرية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ويعود ذلك إلى الموقع الجغرافي الاستراتيجي لها، الأمر الذي ساعد في كونها واحدة من أهم النقاط التجارية في المنطقة على مر العصور، مما أدى إلى ظهور العديد من الحضارات على أرضها، وقد خلفت هذه الحضارات الكثير من المواقع الأثرية، لتؤرخ مراحل مهمة من التاريخ العريق للدولة، وتعتبر الكنوز المكتشفة في المناطق الأثرية التابعة للشارقة من أهم نتائج أعمال التنقيب على المستوى العالمي، خصوصاً أن بعضها ارتبط بمعلومات كانت مبهمة لدى الكثير من خبراء وعلماء الآثار.
فقد أصبحت الشارقة مركزاً للأبحاث الأثرية من سبعينات القرن الماضي، منذ أن قام فريق آثار عراقي، ببدء عمليات التنقيب الأولى في الإمارة، ويرجع الفضل الكبير إلى الأنشطة التي تولت مهمتها هيئة الشارقة للآثار، بما فيها القيام بعمليات تنقيب أثرية واسعة والإشراف على الفرق الأثرية الأجنبية، وعملاً بتوجيهات صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور / سلطان بن محمد القاسمي، عضو المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد، حاكم إمارة الشارقة، حفظه الله ورعاه، والرامية إلى المحافظة على آثـــــــــــــــار الــــــشارقة وصونها وحفظها والتعريف بها، وتعزيز الوعي بأهميتها وما تحيل إليه من ماضٍ موغلٍ في القدم.

ملف التراث العالمي
mng
المشهد الثقافي للمنطقة الوسطى

أصدر صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم الشارقة قراراً إدارياً في يناير 2018 بإنشاء وتشكيل لجنة ملف التراث العالمي للمشهد الثقافي للمنطقة الوسطى لإمارة الشارقة. وقضى القرار الإداري رقم “1” لسنة 2018 أن تنشأ لجنة في الإمارة تسمى “لجنة ملف التراث العالمي للمشهد الثقافي للمنطقة الوسطى لإمارة الشارقة”، برئاسة سعادة عيسى يوسف مدير الآثار والتراث المادي في هيئة الشارقة للآثار.

وحدد القرار مهام وصلاحيات اللجنة بالتنسيق بين الجهات المختصة لحماية وترويج التراث الثقافي في الإمارة والتنسيق مع المجلس الدولي للمعالم والمواقع “الإيكوموس” واللجنة العالمية لإدارة التراث العالمي “إيكام” ، بشأن إدراج المشهد الثقافي للمنطقة الوسطى على لائحة التراث العالمي، وإعداد جدول زمني لمراحل تنفيذ الملف وتحديد الموعد النهائي لتقديمه.

المراسيم والقوانين

حماية التراث الثقافي

قانون رقم (4) بشأن التراث الثقافي في إمازة الشارقة
قانون الآثار في إمارة الشارقة
قانون رقم (2) لسنة 2017مبشأن اختصاصات هيئة الشارقة للآثارار
مرسوم أميري رقم (57) لسنة2016م بشأن إنشاء هيئة الشارقة للآثار